Me, My Salt, and I2

For our loyal followers, you may have noticed that in the past couple of weeks Matt has been doing the majority of the writing (and experimenting) on our blog.

This is due to the fact that I have been suffering under self-induced hypothyroidism in anticipation of an upcoming radioactive iodine treatment (I’m really hoping for some cool X-men like side effects). Hypothyroidism makes you stupid and uncoordinatedted. Literally – I’m not to be trusted with the lab equipment.

Polarrhoids- an example of a superpower I would not want. http://superuseless.blogspot.com/

Part of this preparation includes a low Iodine diet. This is not the same as a low sodium diet. It is, in my opinion, a fate far, far worse.

If it is not readily apparent, both Matt and I are foodies. We love to make food, talk about food, eat food, and experiment with food. A great deal of our day (or at least mine) revolves around thinking about the food I will prepare and then later consume (I might share).

A low iodine diet places severe restrictions on what I’m allowed to eat for a minimum of 2 weeks. What can I eat? NOTHING!!!!! Ok, I’m exaggerating, but only a little. Here’s a list of what I can’t eat:

dairy products (cheese, yogurt, milk, etc) things that contain dairy products egg yolks things that contain egg yolks soy products things that contain soy iodized salt things that contain…..you get the idea seafood (including agar) red dye #3 chocolate almost every pre-processed/packaged food known to man and frozen peas (go figure)

So technically I’m allowed to eat fresh fruit, veggies, meat, sugar, legumes and some grain products. Doesn’t sound too bad right? The thing is, I’m a vegetarian (lacto-ovo). Over 1/2 of my regular diet comes from dairy.

My current fantasies are rated "M" for milk

Also, I am not good at self-deprivation. I continually try to use it as a self-motivational device, as in “I will not watch TV until I finish this report.” Well, I have many unfinished reports and I’ve watched a lot of TV.

Find some great low-iodine recipes now in our Lab Book.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me, My Salt, and I2

  1. Pingback: Low Iodine Recipes | Quick! To the Lab! Lab Book

  2. Pingback: Thyroid Schmiroid. | Quick! To The Lab!

  3. Pingback: Half Baked | Quick! To The Lab!

  4. pawsitivelife says:

    Today I had two slices of chocolate cake, and ice cream, a brick of cheese, and a bunch of yogurt….sooo good. My thyroid loves me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

